What should you do after a car accident?
After a car accident, you should first check everyone who was involved for injuries. If someone has been injured, give first aid and call 911 for help. You are required to exchange your information with the other driver, including your name, contact information, registration and insurance. Stay at the scene of the accident until help arrives. If you leave without exchanging information, you can be charged with a criminal offense. If the other driver was at fault, it is a good idea for you to take pictures of the damage to both cars and the general scene where the accident happened. You should also write down or photograph the other vehicle’s license plate information. After you have given your report to the officer, go to the doctor to get evaluated for any injuries that you might have suffered.
Our experienced car accident lawyers will fight for you if you have been involved in a car accident in the Bay Area.
Is there a time limit to report a car accident?
California law requires you to report a car accident in which someone has been injured or killed to submit a written report of the accident to the police department in the city in which the accident happened or the California Highway Patrol within 24 hours of the accident’s occurrence. Any crash that causes an injury, death or property loss of $1,000 or more must also be reported to the California Department of Motor Vehicles on form SR 1 no later than 10 days after the collision. If someone has been injured in an accident, it is best to call 911 from the accident scene for help.
How long after a car accident should you go to to the doctor?
It is common for people who have been in car accidents to experience a surge of adrenaline immediately after their collisions. They may not immediately realize that they have been injured. Some injuries such as whiplash may not begin to show symptoms for hours or days after an accident. Regardless of whether you think that you have been injured in an accident, it is important for you to get immediate medical attention to check for injuries. If you wait to see a doctor, any injuries that you have suffered may worsen, and it may also be more difficult for you to prove the nexus between your injuries and the accident in a car accident claim.
How soon after an accident should you report it to your insurance company?
If you are at fault in an accident, you must report it to your insurance company promptly. There isn’t a requirement under the law for when you must report an accident to your insurance company, but you may be contractually obligated to report it within a reasonable amount of time by your policy. If you have been injured in an accident because of the actions of the other driver, you should likewise report the accident to the driver’s insurance company as soon as possible. California also provides a statutory time limit for filing personal injury car accident claims of two years, which means that you must file an injury claim no later than two years from the date of your injury accident.
How do you prove you were not at fault in a car accident?
Proving liability in a car accident may be difficult and require the help of a car accident lawyer Bay area. You should begin by getting medical help immediately after your accident. You may be contacted by an insurance company representative. The representative may ask you to make a recorded statement or to sign a medical authorization. You should not agree to do either of these things without first meeting with a car accident lawyer Bay area. Your attorney may then handle the negotiations with the insurance company for you while you concentrate on recovering from your injuries. Proving liability may require an in-depth investigation of the accident scene. Your lawyer may work with investigators and accident reconstruction experts to prove the liability of the other driver to the insurance company. He or she may also work with experts to prove the extent and severity of your injuries.
How much money can you get from a car accident claim?
Every accident is different, meaning that there is not a set figure that you can expect to collect in an accident. The amount that you might expect to recover will depend on the extent and severity of your injuries, any income losses that you might have and your other economic and noneconomic losses. When you meet with your attorney, he or she will value your claim and give you a range of values within which you might expect your recovery amount to fall.
What evidence should I collect at the accident scene?
If you can, try to photograph both vehicles and the damage that was caused. Take pictures of the location where the accident happened, and get the other driver’s name, contact information and insurance information. Make certain to write down the registration information for the other driver. If there are any witnesses, get their names and contact information. Bring all of this information to your appointment with your personal injury attorney in the Bay area.
Should I continue driving my car after being involved in an accident?
You should not continue driving your car after being involved in a crash until it has been inspected by the insurance company and your lawyer. This can help to preserve evidence of what happened. After it has been examined and inspected, you can then get the repairs completed.
Why should you talk to the San Jose Injury Attorneys?
Getting help from the San Jose injury attorneys is very important if you have been injured in an accident. Having experienced legal representation can help you to potentially recover much more than you might be able to recover on your own.
Why choose the San Jose Personal Injury Attorneys in the Bay Area?
San Jose personal injury attorneys are highly skilled in representing people who have been injured in accidents that were caused by the negligent actions of others. They understand the applicable laws and are experienced negotiators and litigators. When you are preparing to hire a car accident lawyer, it is important that you choose an attorney who has a strong track record of success and the experience that may be necessary to effectively represent you.
Learn more about specific car accident lawyers in San Jose:
- Drunk Driving Accidents
- Government Vehicle Accidents
- Uber Accidents
- Teen Driving Accidents
- Rear End Accidents
- Cell Phone Accidents
- Taxi Accidents
- Hit-and-Run Accidents
- Rideshare Accidents
- Pedestrian Car Accidents
San Jose Personal Injury Attorneys Home Page